Bohemia Gold Mining Museum
Located in Cottage Grove’s National Historic District, the museum is a living and expanding memorial to all miners, and to the rich history of gold mining activities in the Bohemia Mining District. The museum’s collection of photographs, tools, ore samples, and other artifacts pays tribute to the area’s gold mining history. The museum is dedicated to the memory of Guy Leabo, a long-time area miner with a passion to preserve the history of the Bohemia Mining District. Many of the artifacts in the museum were donated from his personal collection.
Guy Leabo was the former owner of the mine at Crystal Basin. He was also a mining historian and a collector of antique mining tools and equipment. A life long resident of the area, he played a significant role in helping to preserve and promote the mining culture in Cottage Grove.
February 8, 1943
January 21, 2014
Board member and supporter
of The Bohemia Gold Mining Museum.
"Thank you Rich, Rest in Peace"